Just say Yes! and let God do the rest for you. 

It was on Dec 2nd where my guy friend Alex and I had decided to hang out throughout the whole day in Saulsalito, CA. then wind our night at Tommy T’s Comedy club in Pleasanton, CA. whereby we had planned to buy the comedy tickets aiming for the 10.15 p.m. live show. 

It really sucked when he had to cancel, for he wasn’t able to find someone to cover his work shift for him. 

Instead of getting too upset, I had thought of calling my girl friends’, so that I could tell them of my night plans, but remembered they all wouldn’t be available too due to their work schedules’ too.

Anyways since my mind was already set up to hang out on that day, I decided to run my errands during the day then drive at around 8 p.m. to Pleasanton, CA. from Antioch, CA. which is imprecisely 45 minutes without traffic driving around 70-75 mph/hr.

When I scanned through their website in order for me to buy the comedy ticket, on the upper far right side they had a code in which it was written that if I text that code on my phone, the club could be able to give me a discount.

Since I didn’t believe in it; moreover, I needed to buy the ticket as soon as possible, so that my mind can already be transformed to know that I had to actually attend the show, I hurriedly took my debit card and paid $25.00 dollars 💵 for it as a general admission instead of $ 35.00 for a VIP seat.

After two hours I think, I received a text message about the discount which was written that if I showed the same message at the front desk in the club, I’d only enter inside for only $ 10.00.

What! I therefore had no choice other than to go and see Mr. John Witherspoon. Either way even though Alex couldn’t make it, my motivation already came from just the thought of seeing Mr. Witherspoon live!, for he is really a funny celebrity / individual.

I recall him from Soul Plane ✈️ movie by Kevin Heart, Snoop Dogg, himself, and many other celebrities too. The scenery of that movie about him that I will never forget was when he acted as a blind man, boarding a 1st class seat in the plane, ordered oyster type of delicacy, but instead of eating the food, he actually was  caressing the oyster dish like he was fingering a woman’s pussy. 😂😂😂

That definitely made me to be more anxious 😩 and curious to see him live if he could deliver more, or if he actually slowed down on his role. 

For all those who know me closely, they always know I like arriving at my destination 15 minutes prior to the event that I would be attending, and also I really don’t mind showing up to places by myself, for I always socialize and make new friends wherever I go to.

Though my body was tired by around 7.30 p.m., I managed to freshen up quickly, dressed up, then left my 🏡 home.


As soon as I arrived in that parking lot, and after I parked my car, I therefore went to get my ticket in which I thank God for they re – funded back my money due to the discount message I showed the lady at the front desk.

After using the restroom, I went back outside and stood on the line with the rest of the individuals. Since it was a first come, the closer the seat one would seat close to the celebrity who would be entertaining, I decided to stand on the line for approximately one hour before we were all let inside.

I thank God for he created me to be a social person. The handsome gentleman whose name was Nick who stood right in front of me, started a conversation with me. As soon as his fiancée Marilyn arrived and as they all cuddled up, he introduced me to her and we all clicked.

As we were talked  with each other, he started to cackle and said, ” are you sure that you are not the one we should be listening to at the comedy stage? ” As we continued, I therefore showed them one video that my team mates and I acted. 

It was interesting seeing his reaction the whole time as he watched it, for he was laughing hard. I was curious though to know if he was laughing just coz of, or was it because he actually found the story line and act interesting enough for him to be chuckling so hard. 😂😂

Anyways,  he subscribed to the YouTube channel which is: Cheka Tv. 

When we started entering inside the club, I requested them if we could all sit on the same table, for I came by myself. 

Thank God they said yes! We therefore ordered one bottle of red wine and we all shared together which was a cheaper way of spending rather than buying a glass of wine individually.

One of the acts came on stage and I’m telling you that guy was FUNNY! 😂😂😂 One of the jokes I remember he said was that he said he always checks to see if his wife is still alive since he would like to have the insurance money as soon as she dies. 😂😂😂

Comedians are funny! OMG!

The next act came and his name was Mr. Bo-bo. He was a straight forward person and he reminded me of myself. There was one lady who started talking crap about him and 😂😂😂 Mr. Bo-bo put her on check 😳😂😭.

I re – call him telling the lady, ” if you don’t like my jokes, I can re – fund back your money and get out a’ here. If Mr. John Witherspoon finds me funny, who are you?” lol I knew I had arrived to see a real show. 😂😂😂

After a while though, as Mr. Bo-bo continued to tell his jokes, he requested for a volunteer specifically a young, black, lady who is tall. 🙄

Immediately, my new friend Nick started to point at me. I hadn’t even removed my jacket, for it was quite chilly inside the room and the wine 🍷 that I had started to sip hadn’t kicked inside my system yet. 

I gave Nick the look 😟, but for some reason after a while I felt in my spirit that he meant I was the one to go forward to the stage. 

Still sitted on my chair, I waited for someone to volunteer because I didn’t think it was going to be that hard for one to raise up their hands right! 😝

After a couple of minutes as he continued talking, he finally said: This is Tommy T’s son, but when he mentioned that, at first I thought it was him / her that was going to volunteer. I felt a sense of release.

Then he mentioned again, there is no volunteer? 😩 oh daing! Since in my heart I knew I was going to be performing on the following day at a Kenyan Harambee, in Hayward, CA. in my spirit I knew I have always wanted to perform &  without me knowing, I saw my hand raised up and went forward to the stage. 

I won’t lie to you! I was scared as f**k, for I was just too scared. The things that were going through my mind as soon as people started to clap for me and as Mr. Bo-bo reached out his hand to help me climb on the stairs of the stage, I was thinking: 

1.) Shiro, what if you don’t understand the American slang English & why would you want to embarrass yourself?😛😱😂

Anyways, as soon as I stood up there, Mr. Bo-bo whispered something into my ear. He told me I will say this, and you do the actions of it. 

Perfect! I had thought. The exact words he told me were easy and I thought I should be there for only 2 seconds maximum and out a’ there. 

He therefore began by telling the crowd, ” oh your a little shorty shorty ” 😂😂😂.

He then told me to stand right behind him and hold him tight. Then the laughters began because of the actions I did. 

I had never heard a versatile crowd of approximately 200 people laughing so hard like that because of the actions I acted out. 

Even myself I couldn’t help it, but giggle. Oops! sorry Mr. Bo-bo for I even stained your light brown coat with red lip stick, but thank goodness 😅 the dry cleaners can handle that. 

I think I stayed on stage for approximately 10 minutes, or more. After my act was over, as I was walking towards my seat, people applauded and told me that I did very great including the servers who work there. ☺️☺️🙏🏼☺️

That was the best feeling ever that occurred to me in a long while. I was really proud of myself, for in the midst of the fear that was building up in me before, was not worth compared to allowing myself to step out by faith and perform what God had instilled in me. 

I even messed up a little while performing, but people laughed even more for I tried my best to make everything very entertaining to the best knowledge & wisdom God instilled in me. 

Unfortunately since we were not allowed to take pictures, nor videos – as soon as Mr. Bo-bo left the stage, I waved at him and he gave me his time to do a video with me and took pictures from both his cell phone and mine. 

I thank God for the words he told me and shared with all the viewers on the video about me. He was super thrilled about my performance to an extent he even made sure I got his card, and cell phone number. He therefore even told me to make sure that I call him, for he can’t wait to work with me in the near future. 

I was in total awe! this whole time till today. When he mentioned that I was one among the best hand performers for him and that he doesn’t come across such talents oftenly, WOW! 

Honestly I give glory to God for everything. I didn’t ask him how long he had been doing live comedy for, but him being my elder in age & wisdom wise, I really appreciated it all. 🙏🏼☺️

I felt sad though, for none of my friends were there to watch me live and even Alex is always pissed 😡 till today for he missed that action. 😂😂😂 it’s okay! Next time ☺️☺️☺️

Back to the whole point of these story: 

1.) I thank God for even though my date cancelled, I still decided to attend the show by myself.

2.) When Nick mentioned something outside to me about me performing on live stage, I realized after that it was God speaking through him to alert me of what was yet to come. – Always be alert and watch for signs from above. 

3.) Do not be afraid to raise your hand up, or say yes especially if you feel it strongly in your heart. – you may never know how many more opportunities might come through that. 

4.) You would rather try, get embarrassed, but at least say that you tried it because you can never know what God has installed for you until you decide to be bold enough to say yes! & do it. 

5.) That experience helped me to believe and know that I had a purpose to fulfill on this earth by sharing what God has put in my heart. 

6.) When you perform on anything whether he it at work, or basically anything that you put your energy & mind into it, do your very best. 😍😍 – you may never know whom is watching & taking notes. 

Thank you all for reading. Don’t be afraid to follow your dreams my readers. God loves you more and wishing you all the best in your paths too. 😍😍

Feel free to follow me @ 

Facebook page – Switrox

Facebook profile – Switrox Shiro Thumbi

Instagram – Crownshi12

YouTube – Crownshi12 & Cheka Tv

Have a lovely day & night my readers. ☺️

Author:

Hello my dear readers, my name is Shiro Thumbi aka crownshi12 on Instagram, and crownshi3 on wordpress.com 😃 I'm a mother, daughter, sister, a friend, freestyle dancer, an inspiring author, blogger, motivational speaker, and an entertainer. 😃 I can't erase all the choices I made in my life, thus why I'm taking this time to blog hoping that my personal stories will help us to talk about it, find better ways to go about it, or at most laugh 😂😂 about them and just move on. Most of my stories are from my rough draft I'm working on my book title named Be REAL and lets' TALK about it. 😃 Moreover, hoping you will enjoy it, learn something from it, and please don't get offended by anything, for I will be brutally honest as God gives me the grace to share with you. 😉Depending on the story, I might advise you to put your cocktail down., have a piece of napkin to wipe your tears, or runny nose if need be, or at most have a glass of wine, or a shot of tequila while reading my personal stories.😂 Please feel free to comment, share, and my hope is that we can relate to most of the encounters I have been through. Depending on any situation, if you decide to try. lol 😉😉😂😂 be safe, plus think about it, and please!!!! make wiser decisions than I did. haha cheers!!! 😃

Leave a Reply

